Discussing topical issues for women in cross-cultural and inter-continental relationships

The Road We All Took, by Lyndal Asanempoka

So here is some information on my second book, my first novel.

fullsizerender

My first book, My Sisters & I, is a book of biographical and fictional stories about Ghana and Australia, cross-cultural relationships, tradition and culture and bits in between. It was five years of my writing that had been overworked and needed a finishing point. So I self-published and have sold enough that I am happy with it and can move on. It’s nowhere near the level of writing I am at today, but then for those who are truly dedicated to their craft, whose previous work is better? 🙂

I did print a few copies of my novel to hand out to various people whose opinion I sought and over the last year I have received enough feedback from writers, friends (new and old) and potential publishers to know that my book has merit and so I am remaining on the path of searching for a publisher. I printed those copies through Lulu.com but since then have made some changes to a few chapters and have taken it off Lulu because I do want to find a good publisher that meets the books needs and has access to the books intended audience.

Here is the pitch for The Road We All Took:

This book is about Gyan and Kwesi, two Ghanaian children who grow up in a large, lonely house in the capital of Ghana. When they are 11 and 9, one of the maids, the one who stays in the shed behind the charcoal pile, confesses she is their mother.

As Gyan and Kwesi grow up, move around the world and enter their thirties they come together in Darwin, Northern Australia. It is here they are forced to acknowledge that secrets from their childhood are still hanging over everything they do.

Yet how do they move on when their parents are dead and they never really knew them anyway? Gyan and Kwesi need to make a bold move. So they head back to Ghana, to piece together their past so they can face their future.

This is a book that centres around family: those complex institutions of people and events that instruct and affect our lives daily. Some people believe we choose who we are born to. If this is the case, for those born into tragic circumstances, or into families that are dysfunctional or atypical, how do they navigate their way through their upbringing and into adulthood?

You can’t change who you are born to but can you correct the errors of your parents?

Can you find a new way forward for the children you will have and move into a lighter place?

To do that do you have to ignore the past in order to create your future?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

