My goodness Asa, thanks so much for attaching a link to my blog! I think it’s a shame you had such a hard time getting through GMG. People do complain about some of Selasie’s stylistic quirks but she’s not as bad as some. I don’t think it’s anywhere near as incoherent as James Joyce (‘Ulysses’, anyway) and it really is worth the effort. Selasie can be a bit indulgent with her descriptions but it’s a very well crafted novel and the characterisation is excellent. I really also appreciate how she explored the web of consequences resulting from the decisions made by various individuals. It says so much about life and the choices we make.

Sometimes a book can seem more daunting the first time we read it than it actually is. This was my experience with ‘Wuthering Heights’ for instance. When I returned to it years later I didn’t have a hard time getting into it at all.

I’d recommend trying again with ‘Ghana Must Go’ maybe in a few months time or a year. You’ll be surprised. Yes it has its flaws and although I prefer Chimamanda Adichie’s more prosaic approach overall, I think ‘Ghana Must Go’ is a more consistent and satisfactory read than ‘Americanah’; it’s more ‘whole’. It’s definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year.

Thanks again for the support. I really appreciate it.

Shalom x