Discussing topical issues for women in cross-cultural and inter-continental relationships

Who would you invite…?

Inspiringyourspirit, whom I follow on WordPress, posted this list type today and I thought I’d have a go.

Capture

Here is my list,

  1. His Holiness, the Dalai Lama (next to me)
  2. My maternal grandmother, Lorna, passed away 1993
  3. My late father-in-law, passed away in late Feb 2013 aged 107, see post ‘Where to begin’
  4. Salman Rushdie, author in exile due to fatwa
  5. My anonymous sister down south, Somali, FGM and +HIV survivor, public speaker, translator/interpreter, ALL woman :).
  6. My sister Eve, see post ‘Sisterhood… as long as you are Zimbabwean’
  7. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Nigerian author (next to me), see Literature Review category

Baba1  IMG_1102

Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

 

I really found it hard to think of people.  I would just want to be around friends and a few intellectuals.  I could give other lists, as we all could, but really I would want familiarity, context, creativity and connectedness.  I’d like to be able to warmly hug each person that was there and feel a bond by the end of it.  I think Salman Rushdie is a bit the odd one out however I’ve always had him on this list for the past 15 years or so and I am not ready to take him off.  I absolutely adore Midnight’s Children and am fascinated by The Satanic Verses.  I love the way everything, from scenes to characters, is compeltely interconnected and I’d like to know how to write like that.  I think all the others, if you’ve read my blog or know me well, are fairly obvious.

What’s your list?

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

