Discussing topical issues for women in cross-cultural and inter-continental relationships

Upcycling 2 – 5 chairs and a table

IMG_1172[1]

So here are my 5 chairs all painted, ‘Pistachio Sorbet’ and decoupaged.  Now to the table.  It took 3 days as I gave enough time for paint and varnish to dry.  It was easier than the chairs cause of less fiddly bits.

IMG_1171[1]

This is what the table looked like before the upcycle.

IMG_1185[1]

I took a knife to the edges of the curved sections to give it an antique look, as I did with the chairs.

IMG_1186[1]

I decoupaged lotus flowers again and had terrible trouble with this.  I think I watered down the PVA glue too much.  Not sure why.  Also the flowers were larger than on the chairs.  I interlaced 3 separate flowers.  I don’t particularly think they are that great but my husband was very encouraging so I gave it a rest.

IMG_1183[1]

IMG_1184[1]

And here is the finished product.  I bought some placemats today to protect the surface.  My husband said it really does make our living room look larger.  It brightens the area and each time I walk past it I smile.

I am really glad I took the time to do it.

Next project: plank and pot bookshelves.  3 more weeks of holidays so better get cracking.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

