Discussing topical issues for women in cross-cultural and inter-continental relationships

Connectedness at the airport

I recently flew across the country and as me and my 4 year old daughter waited late at night at one airport.  Waiting for our flight, we watched the people come off said plane.  This is what I noticed – women, sisters, mothers and daughters.  Hugs, tears, welcomes, joyful reunions.  Two girlfriends ran towards their dear friend from another State and they all clutched at each other in rapture, feeling so good to be in each others’ presence again if only for a few days or a week.

I pulled down my sunglasses as I became emotional about my obvious voyeurism, I felt their joy deep within me. My daughter asked me about it all and I told her, ‘That is Sisterhood.’

Later in the week my daughter and I waited under the same circumstances for her Dada to come home.  It was my turn. 🙂

photo credits: airplane – http://www.tiptoptens.com

women holding hands – Barbara H.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

